The Last Stitch

It’s hard to describe what it feels like to finish something that I started over 9 years ago.  When I got to the last stitch I didn’t know what to do next, so I took a picture.  the last stitchAs I’ve said before, this quilt is far from perfect, but I’m giving myself a lot of slack because 1) it was my first quilt and 2) I started it long before I had any clue what I was doing.

But I am very happy with it.  I started this quilt soon after became engaged to my sweetheart.  I intended it to be a wedding present for him, but obviously I had no idea how long it would take to make a quilt (did I mention that I started piecing this by hand?).  Next month, we will celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary, so this wedding present is coming a little late.  Fortunately, he is a very kind and patient man and I believe he will love it all the same.

on the grassAs I sat down to write this post, it occurred to me how the process of making this quilt is a lot like marriage. This analogy probably doesn’t fit for those of you who can crank out a quilt in under a week, but for the rest of us …

1. When I started I had no idea what I was doing. I just knew it was something that I really, really wanted to do.

2. I ran into a few unexpected snags along the way.  Things started to look different from the pattern, but somehow, I made it work anyway.

3. I learned a lot of things over time that made the whole process a lot easier.

4. I never gave into the urge to throw out this quilt and start a new one just because this one was not “perfect” or because I saw another pattern or fabric that I liked better.

5. If you look closely, you can find a lot of imperfections, but if you step back and look at the whole thing, it is beautiful.

on the swing

3 thoughts on “The Last Stitch

  1. Congratulations! A hand-pieced quilt is a huge accomplishment and it’s very beautiful. I like your analogies, especially the one about not giving up on this quilt just because it isn’t “perfect.” None of my quilts are perfect, either.

Leave a Reply

