Happy Birthday to Me

In a few short days (on August 7th, to be exact) I will be turning 30,  so I decided to make myself a dress to celebrate in.  If you recall, I made a practice dress out of a sheet, which turned out pretty well, only it was a little big in places.  For this dress, I made a few adjustments including shortening it a few inches and taking it in a little at the sides and here it is:on hangerI must say that I am very pleased with it.  This is one of the first projects that I have truly taken my time with and insisted on perfection.  I guess that happens when you are working with fabric that you really love. (In this case the fabric that I really love is Anna Maria Horner’s Social Climber from her Garden Party collection.)

front outsideMy wonderful husband was kind enough to put down his Sunday afternoon reading for a few minutes to take pictures of me in the dress.

backsideme being sillyThe last one is just me being silly and posing like the girl on the pattern.

On my birthday, we are going out to dinner, then dancing and I think this dress will be perfect for the occasion.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. Pingback: My wonderful birthday « Dear Mrs. Reese

Leave a Reply

