Little boy, little boy, where’d you get your britches?

I borrowed my post title from a song  by one of my favorite musicians, Adrienne Young .

I made these cute little corduroy britches for a new little one that will be born soon.  They are sized for a toddler, so he will wait a bit before he can wear them.  While I love baby clothes, I have a hard time making things for itty bitty babies because they grow so fast.  It’s hard for me to put so much time into making something that will only be worn a few months.

I loved making these pants.  The pattern is from the Autumn 2009 Ottobre. I know I’ve said it before, but I love making clothes from their patterns.  I have never had any trouble understanding their directions.  There were several details in these pants that scared me at first, including an adjustable waistband.  Now that I have toddlers myself, I understand how handy an adjustable waistband can be.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that making a waistband adjustable is very easy.

The only alteration I made to the pattern was that I hemmed the legs up a couple of extra inches because I felt like they were way too long.  However, this baby is a third child and both of his older siblings are tall and skinny so I tucked the extra fabric under instead of cutting it off so that they can be let out if he outgrows the length before he outgrows the waist.

One thought on “Little boy, little boy, where’d you get your britches?

Leave a Reply

