My New Favorite Skirt

I saw this idea on Skip to My Lou for how to turn a little girl jeans into a skirt.  I had a pair of jeans that my girls were too tall for, but now that they are out of diapers, they still fit in the waist (size 12-18  months, mind you).  Normally, since it’s summer, I would just keep letting them wear these and call them capris, but they had worn the knees out in these as well.

So here’s what I came up with:

I had to put patches over the holes.  Obviously, mine does not have a ruffle.  I tried –   I even sewed the gathering stitches before I realized that there was not enough fabric in the legs to make a ruffle.  I guess that part works better with little girl jeans and not baby jeans because little girl legs are longer.

I love the lace at the bottom.  I wasn’t truly happy with the skirt until I added that.  I think it makes up for not having a ruffle.

2 thoughts on “My New Favorite Skirt

Leave a Reply

