Baby-in-the-Hood

When Anna Maria Horner came out with her new book, Handmade Beginnings, she sent it on a blog tour.  Each day for one month, someone was giving away a copy of her new book on their blog.  I thought for sure, at least one of those days I would be lucky enough to win a copy.  But no.  However, I did find a way to get it for free.  Each time I go to the Y, I get points and over time, I can trade in those points for stuff.  So far, I have been very impressed with the selection of things that you can get for these points and this time was no exception.  I was able to get Anna’s new book shipped to my doorstep completely free.  I probably would have broken down and bought the book eventually, but this way I was able to get it for free just by doing something that I love (yes, I’m weird, I really do enjoy working out).

I have already made several things from this book and have been happy with everything.  Let me start by clarifying that although this book is about welcoming new babies into this world, I have no plans to welcome any more of my own babies into this world.  However, I will gladly participate in welcoming other people’s babies into the world.

One of my good friends will be welcoming her second son into the world in a few short weeks.  We had a shower for her last week and I made this hooded jacket for him:

This is the Baby in the Hood jacket from Anna’s book.   The only change I made to the pattern was that I added a strip of the accent fabric to the inside of each sleeve so that when you roll the sleeves up, it shows.  (In the book, Anna choose much cuter lining than I did, so this step was not necessary).

Here’s the button placket:

and the hood:

I had a stroke of genius while working on another project from this book (which I can’t blog about yet because it’s a gift for another baby shower that hasn’t happened yet)  I wanted to add a size tag, but couldn’t figure out how or where to sew it so that it would not bother the little one.  Here’s what I came up with:

Before sewing the lining into the garment, I stitched the size into the upper middle of the lining.
To wrap it up, I make up this little card by stitching some scrap fabric onto an index card and then trimming it with my pinking sheers.  I sewed an extra button on in case he loses one.

I almost forgot a story related to this jacket.  I often cut out fabric around the girls, especially if I am making something for them.  I like to tell them about what I’m making and let them see the process of how their clothes are made.  Ruby has begun “claiming” certain projects, particularly if the fabric involves pink.  She will come over and look at the fabric and say something like “This Ruby’s dress Momma?”  Well, apparently she was not too taken with the brown and blue plaid used in this jacket because when she saw me cutting it out, she came over and pointed to it saying “This Lila’s.”

3 thoughts on “Baby-in-the-Hood

  1. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it since the shower, but I think that jacket is SO cute and can’t wait for Judah to wear it. The few people I’ve been able to show it too have all agreed. Oh and Matt really likes it too!

  2. Pingback: for Penny « Dear Mrs. Reese

Leave a Reply

