Aprons

I made two of these aprons for my two girls.

Just in time for the holiday baking season.

They are such good little helpers.

Of course their favorite part is the clean-up.

I made them using the wonderful FREE tutorial from Sew Liberated.  The only change I made to her pattern was that I used a contrasting fabric for the neck and waist bands as well as for the lining, so it’s reversible.  Here’s Ruby wearing her’s on the other side:

I used fabric featuring Olivia the Pig for one side and some dots by Erin Miller on the other.  This is a great apron for a small child.  Perfect for that “No, I dood it!” phase that my girls are going through, where they want to do everything all by themselves, but often still need help.  With an elastic neck strap and a waist band that fastens on the side with velcro, even my two-and-a-half-year-olds can put these on by themselves.

Would you like to make one of these for a budding little chef or artist in your life?  If so, stop back by tomorrow.  Because as part of Sew Mama Sew’s Giveaway day,   I’ll be giving away a kit to make your very own apron to one lucky winner as well as another prize from my shop to a second winner.

P.S. I was writing up my post for Giveaway Day when I came across this post from Blueberry Gabs who is giving away a wonderful carseat cover and a nursing cover (New and expecting moms, head on over to win!).  The nursing cover reminded me of what Lila did the first day she had her apron.  Apparently, she thought it was a nursing cover because she went and got her baby doll and put it under her apron and said “See, that my baby in there.”  At first I was confused, but then it hit me that every time we go to church she sees several women with panels of fabric attached to a neckband and she was just doing what she sees them do, hiding her baby under the fabric.

2 thoughts on “Aprons

  1. Pingback: Sew Mama Sew Giveaway Day! « Dear Mrs. Reese

Leave a Reply

