Goodbye Summer, I’ll miss you. (with a rant in the middle about being skinny)

I made this skirt earlier in the summer and love it.  Pattern is AMH’s’ Flirting the Issue Skirt and you can download it for free here.  I made mine out of white linen which is perfect for summer.

I also love the elastic waist.  I used to think this look didn’t look great on me, but I decided to try it anyway and am pleased with the way it turned out.  Perhaps that is because my definition of what looks “great” on me has changed.  I used to think that for something to look “great” on me it had to make me look “skinny” and this skirt definitely doesn’t do that.  Yet, somehow I still feel pretty in it.  What?  I can feel pretty without feeling skinny?  Yep.  I follow another sewing blog and recently, she commented that it seems that you have to be “skinny and tall to home-make decent clothing.”  Mainly because, just like in the RTW world,  it is difficult to find “real sized” women’s clothing being modeled here in blogland.

I hope that she doesn’t give up.  Some of my favorite seamstresses are not tall and skinny, but they still manage to make clothes that look beautiful and that make them look beautiful.  You just have to get over the idea that beautiful = tall and skinny.

Here is an up-close shot of the running stitches I did at the bottom, inspired by Jeni.  I went back and forth trying to decide between a rainbow of colors or different shades of blue, but I went with blue in the end because it reminded me of the ocean.  Which brings me back to summer.   With this weekend marking the end of summer, it also means an end to some of my favorite things, the beach, swimming, fresh produce and most importantly, not cold weather.

I know that for many people in my part of the country, fall can’t get here fast enough and with it cooler weather.  I’m not saying that don’t like fall.  I do.  I just don’t like what comes after fall.  I was born and raised in south Alabama where winter just wasn’t all that bad and quite frankly, I am a wimp when it comes to cold.  Give me 100 degrees for days on end and I’m fine.  I’m like a rabbit in a briar patch, but five me 2-3 days of below freezing temperatures and no sunshine and I’m miserable.  So yes, I’m looking forward to the fall, but it’s difficult for me to say goodbye to the summer.  So I’ve spent the past week trying to squeeze in as much summer as I can.  I’ve taking my girls to the pool one last time, we’ve eaten popsicles on the porch, we’ve gone camping and I’ve been wearing this skirt as much as possible.

P.S. It’s also a great skirt for playing in the rain.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer, I’ll miss you. (with a rant in the middle about being skinny)

  1. Hi Mrs. Reese! I love your skirt! It looks fabulous on you. I do feel I need to clarify: I never said I didn’t feel beautiful. It’s just I chose the wrong pattern and unfortunately, it solidified my impression that it’s easier to make clothes for yourself if you’re tall and skinny. I have no idea how to make darts so that clothes will fit over my curves and that’s why my dress looks a bit too tent-like for me to model it in public without someone asking when I’m due. Like many of my readers suggested, I will keep searching for a more flattering pattern!

    • yes, it is easier to make clothes if you’re tall and skinny, because most patterns are made for tall and skinny people. However I do hope you keep trying. It’s also true that it is easier to buy clothes off the rack if you are tall and skinny and the beautiful thing about sewing is that you can learn how to adapt sewing patterns to fit your body type. I am still learning. Skirts are pretty easy, but dresses and blouses are more difficult. Also, I would encourage you to look for bloggers who have a similar body type to yours. You can learn a lot that way as well.

Leave a Reply

