A Very Belated Birthday Present

Image

I set out to make this tent from Growing Up Sew Liberated for my girls’ 4th birthday (February 29th).  I completed all of the sewing in plenty of time for the big day, but could not locate the bamboo poles.  So it got stuffed in a corner of my sewing area and forgotten about.  My girls always get so spoiled by the rest of the family that they hardly notice if mom and dad get them a gift.  Well, I ran across it the other day and decided to hunt down the poles.

Image I used a panel of Sarah Jane’s On Parade from her Children at Play fabric line for two of the tent sides.  I fell in love with that print as soon as I saw it and I could not be more pleased with how it looks on the tent.  Image
(It would probably look better if I would iron it, but the girls were a little anxious to get to play in it)

Image

I wasn’t sure how they would use it, but soon after I set it up, I left the room for a few minutes.  When I came back, they were hunkered down inside and I could hear paper rattling and whispering.  I figured they were doing some kind of art, but later I found the map in there.  Turns out, they were planning a trip to Alabama.

Image

shoes optional….

Leave a Reply

