Carefree

 

A few months ago, my husband tore one of his favorite shirts.  There wasn’t much I could do to save the shirt for him, but I was able to turn it into a dress for the girls. 

I know there are hundreds of tutorials out there for turning a men’s dress shirt into a dress, but I’m a pattern kind of girl.  I like precision in my sewing (most of the time), so I turned to my pattern stash and ended up in the pages of Carefee Clothes for Girls.

I love the details on this dress.  I left the lining and sleeve ruffles unhemmed for a more “carefree” look.  The pleat in the back is the original pleat from the shirt.  I had imagined that they would wear it with the buttons down the back and the pleat in the front, but Lila had other ideas and since Lila usually doesn’t wear dresses at all, I wasn’t going to be picky about how she was wearing it.

Leave a Reply

